Multithreaded PySeq2500 Available

Hi everyone! I’m a graduate student at the Goff lab at the Johns Hopkins Medical Institute. We also have several HiSeqs and I have extended and refactored @kunal 's PySeq2500 into a multi-threaded system. This enables us to initialize and capture images extremely rapidly.

Available here

I’m also developing a dedicated GUI interface which will be available soon.

Thanks to all the folks who reverse-engineered this system and made this project possible! Would love to get feedback from all of you.

2 Likes

This is really awesome, great work! It’s super useful to know that the camera driver works on Windows 10 too.

I’ve been thinking about speeding things up with a multi-threaded workflow, especially the initialization. A lot of things need to be done in a specific order so it wasn’t a high priority.

What do you plan on using the HiSeqs for? And what are you planning on putting on the interface? I know others are super interested about the interface.

Love your work @chaichontat! And props for fighting with Windows to the point where you can get it going on Windows 10. I admire your persistence. It looks like you’re doing a slide-scanner interface? Do you have any plans to add any other elements to it like zooming and navigation or does what you have on github contain everything you need? I too am curious as to your application. @brainstorm is working on reversing the frame grabber and our hope is to write a linux driver one day with the goal of moving everything over to linux (the rest is just serial ports). In the mean time Windows 10 is a great improvement over Vista.

Thanks! Your code for DCAMAPI really helped! Windows 10 and 7 share the same kernel so I expected that the driver would work. The only caveat is that we need to use the specific driver that Illumina bundled with the machine, which is also on my GitHub. I did try the latest driver from Hamamtsu but the API was different.