NIR photography for "plant health"

testing_RandeNIR

let’s explore once more that infragram, using the public lab instructions and filters.

847Z

I already hacked a cheap action cam during the science hack-day in berlin with @lu_cyP
but maybe the cam quality is really tooooo bad. issues with auto white balance and other other things.

also a time lapse would be great!

what about VVLS mapping? not ballons, but a very very long stick?

I did my master’s thesis on how to measure evaporation based on the temperature of a leaf. Unfortunately my thesis is in Finnish, but the fundamental physics is quite simple.

The method I was using cannot be utilized with near-infrared-measurement, but real infrared-measurement. Those instruments cost less than 100€ and it is not important how accurate they are (absolute), but the resolution an repeatability is much more important (analog signal output would totally do it!). It’s important that the IR-meter can focus on a small object, and as mentioned, an analog output would mean it can obtain as good data as a 1000€ sensor (especially if we have a reliable ‘dark matter’ control temperature measurement.

This is not pure soil geeking, but this in fact it’s very closely connected.

Edit.: As far as I know, this method has not been actually ever used (I have not checked since), but as I wrote in the the thesis, it’s a low-cost although at the moment labor-intensive method.