Setting up a community lab in Basel

Hello Everyone,

It is a pleasure to virtually meet you all and to join this community. I am a molecular biologist and an entrepreneur from California who recently moved to Basel, Switzerland to attend university. I am doing my M.Sc. in molecular biology, but I have always been a supporter of the citizen science movement. You can find more info about me here. I used to be a member/volunteer at BioCurious in San Jose, CA, and I would love to see a similar type of space here. I want to connect with the community here and ask if there is anyone near Basel or elsewhere who might like to join forces? I have already started recruiting some volunteers and building out a budget and a plan. I would certainly appreciate any feedback or intellectual contributions you can make.

Please see the link below:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1QsGkLG6NC4k8n0g2sn0ZeuKiMwt1fHmUYSCx-XUtjl4/edit?usp=sharing

Thank you and look forward to learning more about you guys!

1 Like

Great to hear from you here on the forum. and thanks for sharing this article.

There is a bunch of people in the region that have done stuff over the last years.
Let’s use this topic here to connect. thinking about more concrete people in basel… hmmm
@gaudi @mamaya @raronoff

@sachiko and Urs have been writing this nice essay about starting a lab:

and we collected both conceptual and practical stuff here… mbe a bit outdated:
“Making a Laboratory is both a spontaneous activity and a slow labor of love.”
https://www.hackteria.org/wiki/Bio_Lab_Infrastructure#How_to_start_a_DIWO_art-sci_bio_lab.3F

1 Like

Hey thanks for chatting earlier, Marc. I think just in the last few days, I have learned a considerable amount. I am focusing my efforts first and foremost on building the community. Just FYI for anyone in Basel, please join this group:
https://meetingplace.io/BaselBiohackers