How to start learning bio?

Hey,

very general question here. I work as a software engineer (studied business informatics) and really like to learn more about biology (workings of a cell, basic lab practices for starters). But not just the theory, also the wet lab part. Has anyone here a recommendation, where I should start?

I’ve already bought the book Molecular Biology of the Cell and right now am busy refreshing my math skills (forgotten everything). I wish there was a course or DIY bio kit, that teaches you some basics. Like from the well known shop in the USA, but their kits are forbitten in Switzerland.

Anyway, I’d be glad about any recommendation. I just want to learn as much as I can right now and get my hands dirty with some home experiments.

Regards

Dear Sarif

Thank you so much for your contribution. There is much to explore into biology and curiosity invents us anew. Please let me answer and ask some questions as well to get a better idea.

So far as I know is the The Odin Kit is still legal to order to Switzerland but not in Germany, please correct me if I know wrong.

We have been in contact with the swiss officials since a longer time and are updating each other on regulations exchange and projects ongoing in order to have a transparent discourse.

Remember Hacking is about breaking rules not laws. So best if you are interested in DIYbio you have to be aware on the Biosafty rules. Here is a link on how to open your own DIY biolab according to biosecurity levels and also some links to the official ordinances working with living organisms and cell cultures.
https://www.hackteria.org/wiki/DIY-BSL1_Manual_Ecogen#Links

I also send you here the Open Science Manifesto from the EPFL University in Lausanne “promoting open sharing, transparency, reproducibility and accountability as means to advance science, innovations and service to society”
https://www.epfl.ch/labs/lashuel-lab/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/06042020-OS-manifesto.pdf